EOSC 328 · Field Geology

Recording and processing geological data in the field. Held within the three weeks following April examinations after third year. A special fee is to be paid by January 31.

Course Availability & Schedule

Course Syllabus

Course Webpage

2019W T2 (May 2020) : Oliver Field School - Friday May 01 to Sunday May 24


Course Fees

There are 4 separate fees for this course:

  1. Course Registration Fee - payable to Enrollment Services
  2. Special Fee ($848.97) - payable to Enrollment Services before Jan 31, 2020
  3. Field School Meal Plan ($625.00) - Payable to the EOAS Main Office (ESB 2020) after Jan 31, 2020
  4. Field School Course pack ($200.00) - Payable to the EOAS Main Office (ESB 2020) after Jan 31, 2020

Course Prerequisites

The area mapped by students at the Oliver field school contains sedimentary, igneous (volcanic and plutonic), and metamorphic rocks with a complex 3D geometry reflecting both primary sedimentological and igneous processes, and the overprinting effects of deformation and metamorphism. Because of this, we highly recommend that students complete all of EOSC 320, 321, 322, and 323 before attending the Oliver field school. 


Spring 2018: Kenneth Hickey (Director), James Scoates, Matthijs Smit


Required textbook:

  • Geological Field Techniques, 2010, Dr Angela L. Coe (Ed), Wiley-Blackwell, pp 336. ISBN: 978-1-4443-3062-5

Recommended textbooks:

  • Boggs, S. Principles of Sedimentology and Stratigraphy. ISBN-13: 9780131547285 (textbook for EOSC 320). 
  • An introduction to Structural Geology and Tectonics. Van der Pluijm and Marshak. 1997 (out of print, but a custom course package incorporating much of this book is available at the UBC bookstore for $30.65).

Shell Mapping Prizes

Each year Shell Canada Limited awards four undergraduate prizes for Excellence in Geological Field Work at the Oliver Field School. Recent recipients of those awards are listed below;

May 2019 (2018W academic year)

  • Dylan Spence
  • Sarah Raschella
  • Joshua Nicholas
  • Lars Gibbard

May 2018 (2017W academic year)

  • Kiara Brooksby
  • Rebecca Canam
  • Liam Fannin
  • Carl Ryan

May 2017 (2016W academic year)

  • Robert Parry
  • Maximillian Van Wyk de Vries
  • Casey Watamaniuk
  • Quinton Willms

May 2016 (2015W academic year)

  • Emily Bolton
  • Jasmine Koh
  • Hayley McIntyre
  • Andrew Steiner

May 2015 (2014W academic year)

  • Arron Albano
  • Michael Shynkaryk
  • Colton Cantner
  • Nick Dodds

May 2014 (2013W academic year)

  • Jiaopu Li
  • Kate Jillings
  • Britta Neumann
  • Dave Nuttall


The Mike Casselman Memorial Award

This award honours the legacy of Mike Casselman, a passionate exploration geologist, brilliant mapper, and a strong believer in valuing and preserving the environment along with finding a mineral resource. The recipient(s) is chosen based on their academic performance during Field School, with preference going towards those demonstrating a passion for mapping and a real commitment to supporting their fellow students. Recent recipients of this award are listed below;

May 2019 (2018W academic year)

  • Joshua Nicholas

May 2018 (2017W academic year)

  • Sim Sidhu

May 2017 (2016W academic year)

  • Quinton Willms

May 2016 (2015W academic year)

  • Shane Mulholland
  • Courtney Forth